UIUC算法课教授Jeff Erickson教你如何以2.4/4.0的神GPA申请到UC Berkeley

rui21ble

今天读到一篇文章 也许对部分同学的申请有些借鉴作用喔!**Apply more to CS students applying to GRADUATE programs, but generally the admission rules are simillar. **最近Deadweek没有做翻译, 表示抱歉。。。

Last but not least, good luck on your applications!

下面是转载:

This is my response to a recent email from a student, who shall of course remain anonymous. I've added a few links and comments.

While doing some web browsing on quantum algorithms, I stumbled upon your page. I noticed that you boast that you have the lowest undergraduate GPA of any professor you have ever met. I am an undergraduate computer science student who dreams of one day obtaining a PhD, but my GPA is less than impressive. If you have a moment, I would love to know how you were able to convince graduate admissions and more importantly, yourself, that you were up to the task of getting a PhD.

Hard work, arrogance, and pure dumb luck.

I always wanted to go to grad school, but I was a LAZY undergrad. I spent more time hacking on independent programming projects than on homework or studying for exams. Anything I found boring, I spent no time on whatsoever. Usually, by the time final exams rolled around, I was too far behind to catch up. (I'd love to claim that I spent all that time partying, but I was also a geek.) I aced the programming classes (which landed me some student TA jobs), and I did lots of independent study projects, but I bombed everything else. It wasn't that I couldn't understand the material or do the work (at least, if I'd kept up); I just didn't care.

Hey, it worked in high school. I got into college, despite almost failing English and history, because I was years ahead at math.