【加米】cs master SOP 求意见

PennyL
刚刚交了一份申请,对SOP/PS 感觉很虚,只有自己改过一稿,希望大佬们提提意见。
主申top tier,感谢加米🙏

Statement of Purpose

My interest in Computer Science sparkles in the last .... of my freshman year when I was an undergraduate researcher in the quantum computing group of Physics department. At that time, I was writing thousand lines of code in MATLAB to model quantum FFT algorithms, a Ph.D candidate who sat next to me made a joke: “They always say that physicists write the worst code.” I was stimulated by his remark and took my first ever class in computer science, with the sheer naïve goal to improve my coding style. I had no idea of the adventure ahead.

Research Experience

Through two and a half years of courses and part-time research experience, I centered around two subfields, data mining and computer graphics. In data mining, supervised by …., we designed attacking schemes to a proposed fraud detection algorithm. By introducing rating bots to real-world datasets from ….. , we optimized the algorithm by working out an optimized reviewer-trusted-verified algorithm and a variant with supervised learned parameters, the latter outperforming existing algorithms in our experimental setting. Through this research, I gained experience in first, formalizing data mining algorithm with rigorous math definition and second, carrying out efficient implementation with massive real-world datasets. Through this process, I found out that there were always so much to learn and taught myself parallel computing and data visualization.